The Washington Times - July 3, 2012, 01:09PM

With Evgeny Kuznetsov remaining in Russia’s Kontinental Hockey League for the next two years, the Washington Capitals turn their attention to a few other top prospects beginning with development camp next week.

Both first-rounders from the 2012 draft, No. 11 pick Filip Forsberg and No. 16 Tom Wilson, will be in attendance, along with 2010 third-rounder Stan Galiev. The Caps on Tuesday announced the roster of 22 organizational prospects who will take part in development camp July 9-14 at Kettler.


Among 2012 picks, only fourth-rounder Austin Wuthrich (Notre Dame) and goaltender Sergei Kostenko (Russia) won’t be in attendance.

“I’d like to see the guys we drafted,” general manager George McPhee said Monday. “Then try to forecast where they might be this year and next year and the following year. I have a feeling these kids aren’t very far away.”

The rest of the invitees will be revealed next week. Max Iafrate, son of Al Iafrate, and Australian-born Nathan Walker, are reportedly set to be among them.


Monday, July 9: Group A 9 a.m.; Group B 10:45 a.m.; Scrimmage 3 p.m.

Tuesday, July 10: Group A 9 a.m.; Group B 10:45 a.m.; Scrimmage 2:45 p.m.

Wednesday July 11: Group A 8:50 a.m.; Group B 10:50 a.m.

Thursday July 12: Group B 9:15 a.m.; Group A 10:45 a.m.; Scrimmage 3 p.m.

Friday July 13: Scrimmage, 9:45 a.m..

Saturday, July 14: Scrimmage, 10 a.m.



Steffen Soberg (2011 fourth round)

Brandon Anderson (2010 free agent)

Sergei Kostenko (2012 seventh round)

*Scott Darling (Mississippi of SPHL)

*Brooks Ostergard (Robert Morris)


Cameron Schilling (2012 free agent)

Garrett Haar (2011 sixth round)

Patrick Koudys (2011 fifth round)

Patrick Wey (2009 fourth round)

Connor Carrick (2012 fifth round)

Christian Djoos (2012 seventh round)

Jaynen Rissling (2012 seventh round)

*C.J. Chartrain (Niagara)

*Aaron Gens (University of Alaska-Fairbanks)

*Max Iafrate (Kitchener)

*Chris Joyaux (Chicago of USHL)

*Adam McKenzie (Air Force)

*Michael Quinn (University of Alaska-Fairbanks)

*Nate Schmidt (University of Minnesota)

*Steven Seigo (Michigan Tech)

*Scott Wietecha (Chicago of ECHL)

*Tyson Wilson (Robert Morris)


Filip Forsberg (2012 first round)

Tom Wilson (2012 first round)

Stan Galiev (2010 third round)

Travis Boyd (2011 seventh round)

Chandler Stephenson (2012 third round)

Thomas Di Pauli (2012 fourth round)

Caleb Herbert (2010 fifth round)

Riley Barber (2012 sixth round)

Taylor Stefishen (2011 trade)

Greg Burke (2008 sixth round)

Barry Almeida (2012 Hershey free agent)

T.J. Syner (2012 Hershey free agent)

David Civitarese (2012 Hershey free agent)

*Andrew Ammon (Princeton)

*Matt Bailey (University of Alaska-Anchorage)

*Brant Harris (UConn)

*Gregory Miller (Cornell)

*Andreas Martinsen (Lillehammer, Norway)

*Nardo Nagtzaam (Mercyhurst)

*Daniel O’Donoghue (Mercyhurst)

*Brent Tate (Lincoln of USHL)

*David Vallorani (UMass Lowell)

*Nathan Walker (HC Vitkovice in Czech Republic)

*Camden Wojtala (Bowling Green)

* Free Agent invites