The Washington Times - January 17, 2013, 11:48PM

Will the Los Angeles Kings repeat as Stanley Cup champions? I’ll take that wager. Click here to read my Washington Capitals season preview and here for my 2013 NHL season preview.

Drum roll, please. My picks for the 48-game season:



Eastern Conference

1. New York Rangers (Atlantic Division champs)

2. Boston Bruins (Northeast Division champs)

3. Tampa Bay Lightning (Southeast Division champs)

4. Pittsburgh Penguins

5. Washington Capitals

6. Philadelphia Flyers

7. Carolina Hurricanes

8. New Jersey Devils

Western Conference

1. Vancouver Canucks (Northwest Division champs)

2. Los Angeles Kings (Pacific Division champs)

3. Chicago Blackhawks (Central Division champs)

4. St. Louis Blues

5. Phoenix Coyotes

6. Detroit Red Wings

7. San Jose Sharks

8. Nashville Predators


Stanley Cup: Kings over Rangers

Conn Smythe: Jonathan Quick

Hart Trophy (MVP): Jonathan Toews, Blackhawks

Vezina Trophy (Goaltender): Henrik Lundqvist, Rangers

Norris Trophy (Defenseman): Drew Doughty, Kings

Selke Trophy (Defensive forward): Pavel Datsyuk, Red Wings

Art Ross Trophy (Most points): Alex Ovechkin, Capitals

Maurice Richard Trophy (Most goals): Alex Ovechkin, Capitals

Calder Trophy (Rookie): Justin Schultz, Oilers


From Bovada:

Nicklas Backstrom points (45.5): Over

Alex Ovechkin points (50.5): Over