You are currently viewing the printable version of this entry, to return to the normal page, please click here.

Steele Stanwick named ACC men's lacrosse player of the year

← return to D1SCOURSE

Virginia attackman Steele Stanwick was named the ACC’s player of the year Thursday, the first Cavalier to win the award since Chris Rotelli in 2003.

Stanwick, the ACC’s 2009 rookie of the year, has 23 goals and 21 assists for Cavaliers.

It was a remarkably balanced all-conference team, featuring three players from Maryland, North Carolina and Virginia and two from Duke. Three freshmen – Jordan Wolf (Duke), Niko Amato (Maryland) and rookie of the year Nicky Galasso (North Carolina) – were named all-conference picks.

The rundown:

A Billy Bitter, North Carolina
A Nicky Galasso, North Carolina
A Steele Stanwick, Virginia
A Jordan Wolf, Duke
M Colin Briggs, Virginia
M Joe Cummings, Maryland
M Chris LaPierre, Virginia
LSM CJ Costabile, Duke
D Ryan Flanagan, North Carolina
D Brett Schmidt, Maryland
G Niko Amato, Maryland

Player of the Year: Steele Stanwick, Virginia
Freshman of the Year: Nicky Galasso, North Carolina
Coach of the Year: John Danowski, Duke

Patrick Stevens

← return to D1SCOURSE

blog comments powered by Disqus
Happening Now