You are currently viewing the printable version of this entry, to return to the normal page, please click here.

O'Brien, Vellano, Chism earn ACC weekly honors

← return to D1SCOURSE

Maryland’s Danny O’Brien (offensive back), Joe Vellano (co-defensive lineman) and Cameron Chism (defensive backs) collected ACC player of the week honors.

O’Brien was 31-for-44 for 348 yards, a touchdown and an interception in Monday’s 32-24 defeat of Miami. He also rushed for 37 yards on six carries (including a 24-yard carry).

Vellano had two tackles, two fumble recoveries and a 30-yard fumble return for a touchdown. It was the first touchdown by a Maryland defensive lineman since Jared Harrell recovered a fumble in the end zone against Virginia Tech in 2009. It is Vellano’s second career player of the week honor.

Chism had six tackles, a tackle for loss, a forced fumble and a 54-yard interception return for a touchdown. Chism is the first Maryland cornerback to return an interception for a touchdown since Domonique Foxworth’s 44-yard return on Sept. 27, 2003, against Eastern Michigan.

It hasn’t been nearly that long since Maryland last had three honorees; the last time that happened was the final week of last year’s regular season (O’Brien won rookie of the week, Torrey Smith collected offensive back of the week and Antwine Perez was the defensive back of the week.



Oct. 25, 1999: TB LaMont Jordan
Nov. 22, 1999: TB LaMont Jordan
Sept. 22, 2001: TB Bruce Perry
Oct. 8, 2001: QB Shaun Hill
Oct. 22, 2001: QB Shaun Hill
Nov. 19, 2001: QB Shaun Hill
Oct. 19, 2002: TB Chris Downs
Nov. 9, 2002: WR Steve Suter
Nov. 17, 2003: TB Josh Allen
Dec. 1, 2003: TB Bruce Perry
Oct. 16, 2006: TB Keon Lattimore
Nov. 13, 2006: WR Darrius Heyward-Bey
Oct. 1, 2007: QB Chris Turner
Nov. 12, 2007: QB Chris Turner
Oct. 20, 2008: QB Chris Turner
Nov. 29, 2010: WR Torrey Smith
Sept. 6, 2011: QB Danny O’Brien


Oct. 11, 1999: DE Erwyn Lyght
Sept. 1, 2001: LB E.J. Henderson
Sept. 29, 2001: LB E.J. Henderson
Oct. 15, 2001: LB E.J. Henderson
Nov. 5, 2001: LB E.J. Henderson
Nov. 12, 2001: LB E.J. Henderson
Nov. 19, 2001: LB E.J. Henderson
Oct. 5, 2002: LB E.J. Henderson
Oct. 26, 2002: DT Randy Starks
Nov. 30, 2002: LB E.J. Henderson
Oct. 6, 2003: LB Shawne Merriman
Nov. 17, 2003: DT Randy Starks
Nov. 24, 2003: DT Randy Starks
Sept. 7, 2004: LB D’Qwell Jackson
Oct. 24, 2004: LB D’Qwell Jackson
Nov. 1, 2004: LB D’Qwell Jackson
Nov. 29, 2004: LB Shawne Merriman
Sept. 6, 2005: LB D’Qwell Jackson
Oct. 8, 2007: LB Dave Philistin
Sept. 7, 2010:
DT Joe Vellano
Sept. 6, 2011: DT Joe Vellano


Sept. 20, 1999: CB Lewis Sanders
Oct. 7, 2000: S Shawn Forte
Sept. 22, 2001: S Tony Jackson
Oct. 8, 2001: CB Tony Okanlawon
Dec. 1, 2003: S Madieu Williams
Nov. 29, 2004: S Chris Kelley
Nov. 14, 2005: S Milton Harris
Nov. 6, 2006: LB Erin Henderson
Nov. 13, 2006: CB Josh Wilson
Sept. 7, 2010: S Kenny Tate
Oct. 25, 2010: S Antwine Perez
Nov. 29, 2010: S Antwine Perez
Sept. 6, 2011: CB Cameron Chism

Patrick Stevens

← return to D1SCOURSE

blog comments powered by Disqus
Happening Now