The Washington Times - June 12, 2007, 02:24PM
Ronald ReaganYoung America’s Foundation SEE RELATED:


Reagan Ranch Centerinterviewed Peter M. Robinson
The anniversary is an opportunity “to recognize the magnitude of the American accomplishment in the Cold War,” Mr. Robinson said. \ “It was one of the great conflicts in all human history,” he said. “It lasted more than four decades, it reached to virtually every corner of the globe.” \ “And we won,” Mr. Robinson said. “The Cold War did not just end — we won.”
Michael MedvedJonathan Fleischman’s FlashReport.orgBryan Preston at HotAir.com has video— Robert Stacy McCain, assistant national editor, The Washington TimesUPDATE 3:40 p.m. EDT/12:40 p.m. PDT:Michael Medved— RSMUPDATE 3:45 p.m. EDT/12:45 p.m. PDT:FREE POSTER!— RSMUPDATE 4:25 p.m. EDT/1:25 p.m. PDT:today’s editorial in The Washington Times
Closer to home, at the corner of Massachusetts Avenue, New Jersey Avenue and G Street NW, Communist tyranny will be remembered with the dedication of the Victims of Communism memorial, which starts at 10 a.m. …\ \ The idea was first conceived by Lee Edwards, an aide to Barry Goldwater now at the Heritage Foundation, shortly after the Berlin Wall was torn down. … “The memorial,” said Paula Dobriansky, undersecretary of state for democracy and global affairs, at the groundbreaking ceremony, “is a universal symbol of freedom, representing in majestic form the rights and aspirations of all women and men.”
President Bush spoke today— RSMUPDATE 4:58 p.m. EDT/1:58 p.m. PDT:the latest news about U2’s Bono
The anti-poverty campaign founded by U2 rocker Bono and others is investing $30 million to pressure the presidential candidates to focus on the oft-forgotten issue, with its leaders arguing on Monday that helping the poor is a national security issue. \ \ Dubbed ONE Vote ‘08, the bipartisan political push aims to get President Bush’s successor to commit to taking concrete steps to combat hunger and disease while improving access to education and water across the globe.\ \ “People do not go to war with people who have saved their children’s lives,” former Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist, R-Tenn., told reporters at a church in the nation’s capital.
“My friends, some years ago, the Federal Government declared war on poverty, and poverty won.”
— RSMUPDATE 5:30 p.m. EDT/2:30 p.m. PDT:UPDATE 6:15 p.m. EDT/3:15 p.m. PDT:explained in Monday’s article
YAF purchased the Reagan Ranch, 20 miles north of the city, in 1998. The ranch’s remote location in the Santa Ynez Mountains and YAF’s desire to preserve its historic condition — with just a 1,500-square-foot adobe house — led the organization to seek a nearby facility for offices, classrooms, a theater and a museum, [center director Andrew] Coffin explained. \ Opened last year two blocks from the Pacific Ocean, the center is dedicated to “preserving Ronald Reagan’s ideas and communicating them to the next generation of conservative leaders,” Mr. Coffin said.
— RSMUPDATE 7 p.m. EDT/4 p.m. PDT:“In the Face of Evil,”WowSpoiler alert: UPDATE 8:08 p.m. EDT/5:08 p.m. PDT:Andrew Coffin“Riding With Reagan.”— RSMUPDATE 9:50 p.m. EDT/6:50 p.m. PDT:— RSMUPDATE 10:42 p.m. EDT/7:42 p.m. PDT:Santa Barbara wine countrysmall business— RSMUPDATE 11:10 p.m. EDT/8:10 p.m. PDT:the best political book of the 21st century— RSMUPDATE 12:35 p.m. EDT/9:35 p.m. PDT:Thank you, Mr. President.— RSM