SAN FRANCISCO — Here’s what we know about Danny Espinosa and his left hand that was hit with Matt Cain’s 110th pitch of the day:
— Espinosa was standing in with a 2-2 count and two outs in the top of the ninth inning when Cain’s 92 mph four-seamer collided with his left hand as he gripped the bat. Espinosa was ruled by both the home plate umpire and the third base umpire to have swung, thereby ending the game with a strikeout.
— Manager Jim Riggleman came out to talk to home plate umpire Sam Holbrook to get an explanation about the play. If It hit only Espinosa and he swung, it’s a strikeout, but if the ball hit the bat at all, it’s a foul ball. He didn’t get any clarity.
“My question was if it hit any part of the bat then it’s a foul ball,” Riggleman said. “I really never was told that the ball hit only him. You can’t walk off the field and the game is over and ok, we lost you won, we don’t say anything. I’m just trying to ask the umpires for somewhat of a lengthy explanation other than it hit him and they walk away. I think we deserve that. I wasn’t going to argue with him, I just wanted a very clear explanation and I didn’t get it.”
— Espinosa had a wrap on the hand, which looked to have been hit on the outside, upper portion somewhere between the ring finger and the edge of his hand, after the game. He looked to be in considerable pain after the ball made contact, shooting down the first base line and ripping his batting glove off before being attended to by trainers.
— He did not comment to reporters after the game, saying only “I don’t want to talk,” and continuing to pack his belongings for the team’s trip to San Diego Wednesday evening.
— A Nationals spokesman was unsure if X-rays were in the plans for the second baseman and manager Jim Riggleman was also unsure of the severity of things so soon after after it happened.
“I don’t know yet,” Riggleman said. “Obviously it’s too hard to tell yet but he got hit pretty good.”