Seven Nationals file for salary arbitration

← return to Nationals Watch

All seven of the Nationals’ arbitration-eligible players filed for salary arbitration on Tuesday with the date for the sides to exchange salary figures set for Friday.

Filing for arbitration is mere formality but it does signify the start of the process in which the seven players — Roger Bernadina, Tyler Clippard, Ian Desmond, Ross Detwiler, Craig Stammen, Drew Storen and Jordan Zimmermann — will attain their salaries for the 2013 season. Arbitration-eligible players are those with 3-6 years of service in the major leagues or, in the case of Storen, those who reach Super 2 status before three full seasons in the big leagues. 

Agreements, and occasionally extensions, can often be reached before the date to exchange salary figures and negotiations can continue even after that date. Agreements can be reached all the way up until an arbitration hearing.

Back in October, I examined each arbitration-eligible players case, explaining the Super 2 designation and a little bit about how the process works. At that point, the Nationals had nine arbitration-eligible players but they non-tendered John Lannan, Tom Gorzelanny and Jesus Flores at the end of November. Lannan has since signed with the Phillies and Gorzelanny with the Brewers. Flores remains unsigned.


← return to Nationals Watch

About the Author
Amanda Comak

Amanda Comak

Amanda Comak covers the Washington Nationals and comes to The Washington Times from the Cape Cod Times and after stints with and the Amsterdam (N.Y.) Recorder. A Massachusetts native and 2008 graduate of Boston University, Amanda can be reached at and you can follow her on Twitter @acomak.

Latest Stories

Latest Blog Entries

blog comments powered by Disqus
Happening Now