NFC East is the Beast again

← return to Redskins 360

The NFC East is the only division that won both of its interdivisional matchups in Week 1, continuing its recent dominance. The NFC East was 2-0 last weekend while the AFC South was 0-2, five divisions were .500 and the AFC West only played within its own division.

Here’s how the divisions stacked up the past four years with record vs. 500.

                2008     2005-08 Playoff Teams SBowl Teams Champs

NFC East   plus-13    plus-35          10                2                 1

AFC South plus-12    plus-36           8                 1                 1

NFC South plus-16    plus-4             6                 0                 0

AFC East plus-12      plus-2             5                 1                  0

AFC North minus-1    plus-5            6                 2                 2

NFC North minus-14  minus-18        4                 1                 0

AFC West minus-18   minus-18        5                 0                 0

NFC West minus-20   minus-46        4                 1                 0

- David Elfin

← return to Redskins 360

About the Author
David Elfin

David Elfin

David Elfin has been following Washington-area sports teams since the late 1960s. David began his journalism career at Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School, the University of Pennsylvania (B.A., history) and Syracuse University (M.S., telecommunications). He wrote for the Bulletin (Philadelphia), the Post-Standard (Syracuse) and The Washington Post before coming to The Washington Times in 1986. He has covered colleges, the Orioles ...

Latest Stories

Latest Blog Entries

blog comments powered by Disqus
Happening Now