Cooke, Beathard head 17 Canton nominees

← return to Redskins 360

Late owner Jack Kent Cooke and former general manager Bobby Beathard are among 17 men with ties to the Washington Redskins who are on the just-released list of 131 nominees for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2010.

Cooke, who ran the Redskins from 1979 until his death in 1997, and Beathard, the GM from 1978-89, were last-minute additions to last year’s ballot so this year marks their first full-fledged candidacies.

Guard Russ Grimm, who made it to the round of 10 during last year’s election, was automatically returned to the ballot. He’s joined by former linemates Joe Jacoby and Jim Lachey, quarterback Joe Theismann, tight end Frank Wycheck, receivers Gary Clark, Henry Ellard, Irving Fryar and Andre Reed, running backs Larry Centers and Brian Mitchell, defensive linemen Dexter Manley and Charles Mann, linebacker Ken Harvey and late punter Reggie Roby.

The list will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November and then to 15 finalists who will join Seniors nominees Dick LeBeau and Floyd Little as the subjects of discussion by the 44 selectors (including yours truly) on Feb. 7 in Miami when Five, six or seven candidates will be elected as members of the Class of 2010.

— David Elfin

← return to Redskins 360

About the Author
David Elfin

David Elfin

David Elfin has been following Washington-area sports teams since the late 1960s. David began his journalism career at Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School, the University of Pennsylvania (B.A., history) and Syracuse University (M.S., telecommunications). He wrote for the Bulletin (Philadelphia), the Post-Standard (Syracuse) and The Washington Post before coming to The Washington Times in 1986. He has covered colleges, the Orioles ...

Latest Stories

Latest Blog Entries

blog comments powered by Disqus
Happening Now