The Washington Times - April 21, 2012, 05:48PM

Tension continues between NBA players association president Derek Fisher, and Billy Hunter, the executive director. The players association executive committee has issued a unanimous vote of “no confidence” against Fisher, and has asked for his resignation. Fisher has refused, and issued the following statement.

“I, along with many others, are extremely disappointed with the Executive Committee,” Fisher said Friday in a statement. “Their demand for my resignation and their need to protect the NBPA management and their own best interests instead of protecting the players we were elected to serve is unfortunate.”


In response to Fisher, the executive committee released also released a statement:

“The Executive Committee based its decision on numerous instances over the past six months, where Fisher engaged in conduct detrimental to the union, including acting in contravention of the players’ best interests, during collective bargaining, declining to follow the NBPA Constitution, and failing to uphold the duties of the Union President,” the committee statement said.

The eight member executive committee members are: Maurice Evans (Wizards) Keyon Dooling (Celtics) James Jones (Heat) San Matt Bonner (Spurs) Chris Paul (Clippers) and free agents Roger Mason Jr., Theo Ratliff and Etan Thomas.

In an interview on Friday after practice, Evans expressed dismay that these issues could not be handles internally, and that what should have been a private matter is escalating into a public battle.

“There’s been a number of actions that have been questionable, and that have lost him the confidence of the board,” Evans said.

“Not the other players, because the other players are not up to speed with what’s going on, so we’ve asked Derek to resign his position and leave with his integrity, and all the good things that he’s done before this thing gets messy, because that’s not what we’re about.”