- The Washington Times - Thursday, December 13, 2007

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation today announced its inductees for 2008. The inductees will be honored at a ceremony on March 10, 2008, at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.

The 2008 inductees are trailblazers all unique and influential in their genres, said Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation President and CEO Joel Peresman. From poetry to pop, these five acts demonstrate the rich diversity of rock and roll itself. We are proud to honor these artists and celebrate their contribution to rock and rolls place in our culture.

The performer inductees are: Leonard Cohen, The Dave Clark Five (Dave Clark, Lenny Davidson, Rick Huxley, Denis Payton and Mike Smith), Madonna, John Mellencamp and The Ventures (Bob Bogle, Nokie Edwards, Gerry McGee, Mel Taylor, Don Wilson)

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame also announced the induction of Little Walter in its sideman category, and the newly named Ahmet Ertegun Award (formerly the non-performer category) will be presented to legendary producers, Kenny Gamble and Leon Huff.

The 2008 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame performer inductees were chosen by the 600 voters of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation. Artists are eligible for inclusion in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame twenty-five years after their first recording is released.

Presenters and performers at the induction will be announced at a later date. The induction ceremony will again air live on VH1 Classic on March 10, 2008.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide