- The Washington Times - Monday, March 17, 2008

From combined dispatches


No. 1 North Carolina 86, Clemson 81

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — Wayne Ellington finished with 24 points, and Tyler Hansbrough had 18 yesterday as the Tar Heels (32-2) beat the Tigers (24-9) for ACC title.

North Carolina won the title for a second straight season and a record 17th time.

Ty Lawson had 12 points, five rebounds and eight assists for the Tar Heels, who have won 11 straight games. Hansbrough was named the tournament’s MVP, finishing with 11 rebounds.

K.C. Rivers finished with 28 points and six 3-pointers for the Tigers.

Big Ten

No. 8 Wisconsin 61, Illinois 48

INDIANAPOLIS — Brian Butch scored 12 points as the Badgers (29-4) beat the Illini (16-19), sweeping the Big Ten regular-season and tournament titles for the first time.

Big 12

No. 5 Kansas 84, No. 6 Texas 74

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Mario Chalmers scored a career-high 30 points the Jayhawks (31-3) beat the Longhorns (28-6) for their third straight Big 12 title.


Georgia 66, Arkansas 57

Story Continues →