Continued from page 1

The United States, long a critic of the independent U.N. body, has refused to seek election to what Washington sees as a compromised institution unworthy of America’s participation.


Fifteen nations were elected to the United Nations' Human Rights Council. Winning nations are listed below in bold:

Europe: France, Britain, Spain

Asia: South Korea, Japan, Sri Lanka, East Timor, Bahrain,Pakistan

Eastern Europe: Czech Republic, Serbia, Slovakia, Ukraine

Africa: Zambia, Burkina Faso, Gabon, Ghana

Latin America/Caribbean region: Brazil, Argentina, Chile

Source: United Nations