- The Washington Times - Friday, March 20, 2009

WASHINGTON (AP) - President Barack Obama has designated Jon Wellinghoff as chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, a position he has held on an acting basis since January.

Wellinghoff, a supporter of renewable energy development and energy conservation, is one of two Democrats on the five-member commission that oversees power grid reliability and wholesale natural gas markets.

Separately, the White House said Obama will nominate Commissioner Suedeen Kelly, the panel’s other Democrat, to a third term. Wellinghoff has been on the commission since 2006 and Kelly since 2003.

The Senate must confirm commission members, but the president may name its chairman without Senate action.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide