Continued from page 1

LeBeau, who retired in 1972 from the Detroit Lions, expected his current players _ he’s the renowned defensive coordinator for the Pittsburgh Steelers _ to bus in from training camp.

Among Grimm’s ex-teammates from the Redskins who are in the hall and were announced as being on hand were Art Monk and Darrell Green. For Randle, it was former Vikings guard Randall McDaniel and tackle Gary Zimmerman.


BERMAN’S PRIZE: ESPN’s Chris Berman, a frequent host of the induction ceremonies, was given the Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award by the Hall of Fame for “longtime exceptional contributions to radio and television in professional football.”

Berman, who as a youngster used to watch Joe Namath play at Shea Stadium for the Jets, has been with ESPN since 1979. He’s covered 28 Super Bowls.

“This is the pinnacle you can reach during a career,” Berman said. “After all, it’s fun and games were are covering, and it’s fun and games to being covering them.

“To see my name with Curt Gowdy and Ray Scott, it’s humbling.”

Peter Finney of the New Orleans Times-Picayune was given the Dick McCann Memorial Award by the Pro Football Writers Association for his work through 65 years as a journalist in the gulf region. A member of the Hall of Fame selection committee since 1992, Finney has covered the Saints since their inception.

Ron Cortes of the Philadelphia Inquirer won the Dave Boss Award of Excellence for his photo entitled “Jackson’s Parade” showing Eagles wide receiver DeSean Jackson sprinting down the sideline being chased by a host of New York Giants.

(This version CORRECTS Corrects to 1999 in 6th paragraph.)