Refereeing blunder leads to 2-goal swing in SJ

SAN JOSE, CALIF. (AP) - A refereeing mistake has led to a two-goal swing in the Los Angeles Kings’ game against the San Jose Sharks.

With San Jose leading 3-1 late in the second period Monday night, the officials failed to see Ryan Smyth had clearly scored for the Kings. San Jose’s Marc-Edouard Vlasic retrieved the puck from inside the net, and the officials allowed play to continue while Smyth and his teammates briefly celebrated.

The teams kept playing until Torrey Mitchell scored a breakaway goal that appeared to put the Sharks ahead 4-1 with 5:14 to play.

But after video review, the officials credited Smyth for his goal, wiped Mitchell’s goal off the scoreboard and wound the clock back 71 seconds to 6:25. The Sharks led 3-2 after two periods.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Get Adobe Flash player