Continued from page 1

On the Republican side, House Minority Whip Eric Cantor of Virginia as expected was elected House majority leader, saying House Republicans “now have a golden opportunity and a second chance to lead and deliver results” after voters booted them from power in the 2006 congressional elections.

“I listened to people from coast-to-coast and understand how frustrated they are with Washington,” he said. “They fear that the America they know and love is changing for the worse.”

House Republicans also elected Rep. Kevin McCarthy of California as majority whip; Rep. Jeb Hensarling of Texas as conference chairman; Rep. Pete Sessions of Texas as National Republican Congressional Committee chairman; and Rep. Tom Price of Georgia as Policy Committee chairman.