- Associated Press - Thursday, October 14, 2010

LONDON (AP) - A British judge granted an injunction Thursday against the Liverpool owners that could clear the way for the club’s sale to the parent company of the Boston Red Sox, and a Texas judge scheduled a Friday hearing on a request to lift his order blocking the purchase.

High Court Judge Christopher Floyd in London issued an order against the legal action taken in Dallas by American co-owners Tom Hicks and George Gillett Jr.

Hours later, Texas District Judge Jim Jordan, scheduled an early morning hearing for 7 a.m. CDT (8 a.m. EDT and 1 p.m. in London) on Friday to hear a motion by New England Sports Ventures to lift the temporary restraining order he issued Wednesday blocking the 300 million pound ($476 million) sale to NESV.

On the second straight day of trans-Atlantic litigation over the famous soccer team, Hicks and Gillett’s companies filed a motion in Dallas asking that the Royal Bank of Scotland, NESV and Liverpool’s independent board members be held in contempt and jailed.


The British judge ordered them to withdraw their action by 4 p.m. London time Friday (11 a.m. EDT) or be held in contempt of court.

“We are nearly there,” Liverpool chairman Martin Broughton said. “We are still in court in Texas. We still have to do that. We still have to take away the restraining order … Mr. Henry is (still) very committed.”

At a hearing in Dallas that started about 2 p.m. EDT Thursday, NESV lawyers argued Liverpool was headed for default if Jordan didn’t rule by 10:01 a.m. London time Friday (5:01 a.m. EDT), but couldn’t provide documentation of that when Jordan asked. Hicks lawyer Geoffrey Harper asked for two days to review the NESV motion.

“If you grant this relief, the injunction is moot,” Harper said. “They will have closed (the sale).”

Attorneys for Hicks denied they went to a Texas court only after the London court ruled against them.

Jordan resisted the urging of NESV attorneys to rule immediately on their request to lift the TRO and set the hearing for the early start to help the sale process in England.

“I want this issue to be resolved for the parties,” Jordan said.

In London, NESV lawyer David Chivers said the sale would go through once the Texas case is withdrawn.

“We are the owners (of Liverpool),” Chivers told the High Court. “The owners from beyond the grave are seeking to exercise with their dead hand a continuing grip on this company.”

The British judge said the legal action in Texas amounted to “unconscionable conduct on the part of Mr. Hicks and Mr. Gillett.”

“This case has no real connection to Texas,” Floyd said.

Story Continues →