10 emerging writers each receive $50,000

Question of the Day

Should Congress make English the official language of the U.S.?

View results

NEW YORK (AP) - Ten emerging writers have each received a $50,000 boost and a prestigious award.

The Mrs. Giles Whiting Foundation announced Wednesday that three poets, three fiction writers, three nonfiction writers and one playwright have been named recipients of the Whiting Writers’ Award, given for “exceptional talent and promise in early career.”

Past winners of the prizes founded in 1985 include Jonathan Franzen, Michael Cunningham and Justin Cronin.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

blog comments powered by Disqus
TWT Video Picks