You are currently viewing the printable version of this article, to return to the normal page, please click here.

Chinua Achebe named winner of 2010 Gish Prize

Question of the Day

Is it still considered bad form to talk politics during a social gathering?

View results

NEW YORK (AP) - The committee that awards the Dorothy and Lillian Gish Prize has announced that Nigerian-born writer Chinua Achebe (CHIN'-wah ah-CHAH'-bay) is this year's winner.

Achebe is author of the 1958 novel "Things Fall Apart," which has sold 10 million copies worldwide. He has published more than 20 other volumes of short stories, essays and poetry.

The Gish Prize, now in its 17th year, recognizes leading artists in such fields as drama, music and dance, as well as literature. Achebe joins past winners including Bob Dylan, Arthur Miller and Robert Redford.

Totaling $300,000 from silent film stars Dorothy and Lillian Gish, the Gish Prize is one of the largest and most prestigious awards in the arts.



Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

blog comments powered by Disqus
TWT Video Picks