Continued from page 1

Clifford J. Levy and Ellen Barry of the New York Times won for international reporting for their coverage of the Russian justice system; David Leonhardt won for the newspaper in commentary for his columns on the economy.

Sebastian Smee of the Boston Globe received the award for criticism for his writing about art. Joseph Rago of the Wall Street Journal was honored in the editorial writing category for his editorials challenging health care reform bills.

The Washington Post won in breaking-news photography for its portraits from the Haiti earthquake.

The Los Angeles Times‘ Barbara Davidson received the award for feature news photography for her portraits of Los Angeles gang violence. Mike Keefe of the Denver Post won for editorial cartooning.