You are currently viewing the printable version of this article, to return to the normal page, please click here.

Pelosi names final supercommittee members

- Associated Press - Thursday, August 11, 2011

WASHINGTON (AP) — House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi on Thursday appointed three Democrats to Congress' new debt-reduction supercommittee, completing the 12-member panel's roster.

Mrs. Pelosi, California Democrat, appointed Reps. James E. Clyburn of South Carolina and Xavier Becerra of California, who are both members of the party's House leadership teams. She also named Rep. Chris Van Hollen of Maryland, who is the top Democrat on the House Budget Committee.

Mrs. Pelosi's appointments bring racial diversity to the supercommittee because Mr. Clyburn is black and Mr. Becerra is Hispanic.

The panel is divided evenly among Democrats and Republicans. It has until Thanksgiving to propose $1.5 trillion in 10-year budget savings. If it does not propose a package or if Congress doesn't approve it, $1.2 trillion in budget cuts automatically will be triggered.

Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.