Continued from page 1

“He’s obviously extremely talented, and I think he works his fanny off to make sure that he does the right things and masters the game plan,” said Shurmur, now the head coach in Cleveland. “So to say I would be surprised, I would say no.

“To be thankful that he is what he is, I would say yes.”

Pittsburgh’s Ben Roethlisberger was the first quarterback to win Offensive Rookie of the Year, in 2004, followed by Tennessee’s Vince Young in 2006 and Atlanta’s Matt Ryan in 2008.

Williams, a fourth-round pick (101 overall) from Syracuse, had 65 catches for 964 yards and 11 touchdowns this season. Pouncey, the rare offensive lineman to collect votes, was a standout in helping the Steelers win the AFC North title.


AP Sports Writer R.B. Fallstrom in St. Louis contributed to this story.