Hooper earns top DGA prize for `King’s Speech’

continued from page 1

Other TV winners:

_ Reality programming: Eytan Keller, “The Next Iron Chef.”

_ Musical variety: Glenn Weiss, “The 64th Annual Tony Awards.”

_ Daytime serials: Larry Carpenter, “One Life to Live.”

_ Children’s programs: Eric Bross, “The Boy Who Cried Werewolf.”

_ Commercials: Stacy Wall.

Marking its 75th anniversary, the Directors Guild dispensed with its usual honorary and lifetime-achievement awards in favor of a look back at the union’s legacy. Directors such as Steven Spielberg, Francis Ford Coppola, James Cameron, Clint Eastwood and last year’s feature-film winner Kathryn Bigelow (“The Hurt Locker”) introduced a series of short films centered on King Vidor, John Ford, George Stevens, Frank Capra and other guild pioneers.

The Directors Guild prizes are followed this weekend by Sunday night’s Screen Actors Guild Awards, the last big honors before the Feb. 27 Oscars.




Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

blog comments powered by Disqus
TWT Video Picks