You are currently viewing the printable version of this article, to return to the normal page, please click here.

NBA ref admits he blew call on inadvertent whistle

Question of the Day

Is it still considered bad form to talk politics during a social gathering?

View results

ATLANTA (AP) - NBA referee Bennett Salvatore acknowledged Sunday that he blew a call in the closing minutes of Atlanta's 100-88 victory over the Chicago Bulls, which evened the Eastern Conference semifinal at two games apiece.

With 2 1/2 minutes remaining and the Hawks leading 90-84, Bulls star Derrick Rose went up for a shot beyond the 3-point stripe and appeared to be fouled by Jamal Crawford.

Salvatore blew his whistle, but ruled he had done it inadvertently. That led to a jump ball, which Atlanta's Josh Smith tapped away from Joakim Noah. The Hawks scored on that possession to essentially finish off the Bulls.

"An inadvertent whistle is when a referee blows a whistle and didn't mean to," Salvatore said. "That's exactly what happened. I blew my whistle and didn't mean to. I didn't think it was a foul."

Bennett changed his opinion after watching a replay.

"It was a foul and I should have called it," he said. "I made a mistake."

Rose walked away in disgust when he saw Bennett signal a jump ball instead of a foul. But the league's MVP brushed off the impact of the play on the Bulls' chances.

"That's basketball," he said.

Coach Tom Thibodeau argued for a foul but, like Rose, he didn't raise too much of a stink afterward.

"He just said it was inadvertent," Thibodeau said. "Bennett's a good official. He made a mistake."

Salvatore said he was "positive" there was no foul on Rose when he blew his whistle.

"It was a foul," the referee said. "I was wrong."

___

Paul Newberry can be reached at http://twitter.com/pnewberry1963

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Get Adobe Flash player