Stosur upsets Williams 6-2, 6-3 in US Open final

continued from page 1

Question of the Day

Should Congress make English the official language of the U.S.?

View results

Most of all, Stosur avoided being distracted by the bizarre events that unfolded in the second set’s opening game. Asderaki ruled that Williams hindered Stosur’s ability to complete that point and awarded it to Stosur, putting her ahead 1-0.

Williams went over to talk to Asderaki, saying, “I’m not giving her that game.”

Williams also said: “I promise you, that’s not cool. That’s totally not cool.”

Spectators began jeering, delaying the start of the next game as both players waited for the noise to subside.

“It was probably the loudest I ever felt a crowd in my whole entire life. You’re right in the middle of it. It was definitely a quite overwhelming feeling,” Stosur said. “But once I hit that next ball in the court and started playing again, I felt settled. I guess it definitely could have been the big, pivotal point in the match.”

The truth is, the outcome never really appeared to be in doubt.

Even Williams acknowledged as much.

“She was cracking ‘em today,” said Williams, whose five games matched her lowest total in 240 Grand Slam matches. “She definitely hit hard and just went for broke.”

Tournament director Brian Earley said Asderaki’s ruling was proper, according to U.S. Tennis Association spokesman Chris Widmaier.

International Tennis Federation rules say: “If a player is hindered in playing the point by a deliberate act of the opponent(s), the player shall win the point. However, the point shall be replayed if a player is hindered in playing the point by either an unintentional act of the opponent(s), or something outside the player’s own control (not including a permanent fixture).”

Williams said later she thought the last part of the rule applied _ and the point should have been replayed _ such as when one player’s hat flies off during a point.

“I guess the rules of tennis are there for a reason,” Stosur said. “She made the call that she felt was right.”

In the heat of the moment, Williams had trouble putting the whole episode behind her and continued to berate Asderaki.

The chair umpire issued a code violation warning for verbal abuse, and the USTA said Earley would speak to the Asderaki and review tape to determine whether Williams would be fined. That decision will be announced Monday.

When Stosur wrapped up the match with a forehand winner, Williams refused the customary post-match handshake with the chair umpire.

Story Continues →

View Entire Story

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Get Adobe Flash player