Continued from page 2

And with that, Jim Harbaugh’s turnaround of the Cardinal had begun.


7) Pitt 13, West Virginia 9 (Dec. 1, 2007)

All Rich Rodriguez’s Mountaineers needed to do was beat their floundering rivals to play for the national championship.

The Panthers came into the 100th Backyard Brawl 4-7, having been pounded by Pat White and Steve Slaton each of the past two seasons.

But suddenly on a cold night in Morgantown, West Virginia’s offense disappeared.

Pitt pulled the last, and considering what was at stake, maybe the most stunning upset of a season filled with them and Rodriguez soon after left for Michigan.


8) Arkansas 50, LSU 48 (Nov. 23, 2007)

The Tigers needed a victory to keep their chances to play in the BCS title game alive _ or so it seemed.

With a banged up defense, LSU couldn’t stop Darren McFadden and the Razorbacks. The Heisman candidate ran for 206 yards and three touchdowns, but LSU forced overtime with a touchdown with 22 seconds left.

All six overtime possessions resulted in touchdowns, but LSU’s 2-point conversion attempt failed on the last one and the Tigers lost for the second time that season.

Of course in this weird season, LSU went on to become the only team to lose twice and win a national championship.


9) Michigan State 34, Notre Dame 31, OT (Sept. 18, 2010)

Story Continues →