Pettersson, three shots out of the lead to start the final round Sunday, drove just inside a hazard on the first hole. He made sure he could touch the grass with his club, as long as he didn’t ground the club. He played out to the middle of the green, and PGA rules official Brad Gregory told him there might have been a violation.
After a lengthy video review, the PGA of America said a leaf moved as Pettersson took the club back. That’s a violation of Rules 13-4c for moving a loose impediment in a hazard.
Pettersson was not notified until he left the fourth tee. He birdied his next two holes.
'Your papers, please' must never be heard in America
Independent voices from the TWT Communities
Reviews, insights and commentary from an eclectic observer.
Join the Communities. We want to hear from you.
How does our 50th state view D.C. politics?
Life lessons, adventures, people places and observations as I undertake my personal quest to travel to 100 or more countries before I die.
Benghazi: The anatomy of a scandal
Vietnam Memorial adds four names
Cinco de Mayo on the Mall