- Associated Press - Saturday, August 4, 2012

A look at some of the key anniversaries this year in PGA Championship history:

1937 (75 years ago)

Winner: Denny Shute.

Course: Pittsburgh Field Club.

Score: Match play.

Runner-up: Harold “Jug” McSpaden.

Margin: 37 holes.

Winner’s share: $2,000.

Recap: Denny Shute won the PGA Championship for the second straight year, and no one else successfully defended his title in this major until 63 years later when Tiger Woods won at Valhalla. But here’s one piece of history not even Woods can match. Shute is the only player to win the same major in a span of 189 days. He won the 1936 PGA at Pinehurst on Nov. 22. The 1937 PGA was held in the spring and ended on May 30. This was as close as McSpaden came to winning a major. He was 3 up through five holes, until Shute one-putted nine of the next 13 holes to build a 3-up lead after the morning session. McSpaden rallied and had a 2-up lead with four holes to play until bogeys on the 34th and 35th holes to square the match. McSpaden’s tee shot on the 18th hit a spectator and went back to the fairway, and he had a 4-foot birdie putt to win. He backed away from the putt when cameras began grinding. “Please give me the chance I’ve been fighting for all week,” he told them. He missed the putt, and then missed a 10-foot par putt on the 37th hole. Shute made a 4-foot par putt for the win.


1962 (50 years ago)

Winner: Gary Player

Course: Aronimink Golf Club.

Score: 278.

Runner-up: Bob Goalby.

Story Continues →