Virginia's State Crime Commission is considering a proposal that would strengthen the state’s texting-while-driving laws to be in line with those across the country, a move applauded by lawmakers who have backed similar legislation but seen by some as a gesture that is too little too late.
More than a year after his teenage son Kyle was killed by a car driven by a man reading a message on his phone, Carl Rowley said he is glad the issue is getting traction, but “it’s not doing anything for Kyle.”
In May 2011, the 19-year-old was pushing his stalled car off the road on Route 7 in Fairfax when Jason Gage plowed into the back of Rowley’s car. A judge dismissed Mr. Gage’s reckless driving charges because texting while driving is considered a secondary offense in Virginia, with a fine as low as $20.
Though he recognized that the judge’s decision was made to “drive the point home” about the discrepancies among reckless driving charges in Virginia, Mr. Rowley said, “the guy never looked. He ran right into him.
“This is something for people down the road,” Mr. Rowley said of the proposal to strengthen the law. “This doesn’t happen often, but it happens.”
Officials said these kinds of crashes happen often enough to warrant a change in how states and drivers handle behavior behind the wheel.
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration records show that in 2010 about 9 percent of the nearly 33,000 highway fatalities were “distraction affected.” The administration’s website about distracted driving, Distraction.gov, states that more than 400,000 injuries in car crashes were the result of distracted driving. According to the agency, drivers are 23 times more likely to crash while they text.
Virginia Delegate Scott Surovell, a Fairfax Democrat who also represented the Rowleys in civil court, explained that in the past, texting was “not as much on people’s radar screen. It was more abstract.”
“What happened to Kyle Rowley was a real wake-up call,” he added, “not only what happened legally, but also his death was extremely tragic and unnecessary.”
“If that’s something that’s happening in the court, we need to make sure texting is covered under reckless driving,” he said.
Among the states that neighbor Virginia, Maryland has one of the harshest penalties for texting while driving. In the Free State, texting behind the wheel of a moving vehicle is considered a primary offense, meaning police officers can pull over a driver if they are doing it. It also carries a $500 fine.
The District, West Virginia, Kentucky, North Carolina and Tennessee also consider texting while driving a primary offense. Those states slap fines on offenders ranging between $50 and $300.
A number of Virginia legislators in the past have attempted to label texting while driving a primary offense.View Entire Story
© Copyright 2013 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.
Meredith Somers is a Metro reporter for The Washington Times. She can be reached at email@example.com.
'Your papers, please' must never be heard in America
Independent voices from the TWT Communities
A carefully guided tour through the confusing world of modern bookselling and publishing.
Benghazi: The anatomy of a scandal
Vietnam Memorial adds four names
Cinco de Mayo on the Mall