Continued from page 2

Jimmie Johnson, a three-time winner, qualified sixth. Jamie McMurray, the 2010 winner, qualified 16th.


STEWART STRUGGLES: Tony Stewart didn’t qualify well, but that has never mattered.

The Columbus, Ind., native’s average starting position is 18th at Indy, yet his average finish is seventh and he has two wins. This year, he qualified 28th.

Stewart ranks seventh in the points standings this season, yet the defending series champ is tied with Brad Keselowski for the most wins with three.