Continued from page 1

Miss Aponte’s appointment ended in December, and she returned to Washington, where Mr.. Obama nominated her again.

Mr.. DeMint raised no objections Thursday but voted against her, along with the 36 other Republicans.

Along with Mr. Rubio, the Republican senators who backed her were: Kelly Ayotte of New Hampshire, Scott P. Brown of Massachusetts, Susan M. Collins of Maine, Lindsey Graham of South Carolina, Richard G. Lugar of Indiana, John McCain of Arizona, Lisa A. Murkowski of Alaska and Olympia J. Snowe of Maine.

Call Embassy Row at 202/636-3297 or email The column is published on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.