Continued from page 4

2045: The games have kicked off…

(at)mattekaren Sweden with massive edge in fan support again at Olympic Stadium. (via Twitter)


2027: After two matches, France and England have four points, Ukraine has three and already-eliminated Sweden has none. So, the French and English will qualify with a draw tonight. Ukraine must win _ any other result and the co-host leaves its own party early.


2020: AP’s Rob Harris surveys the scene in Donetsk ahead of England vs. Ukraine: “Outnumbered by Ukraine’s yellow and blue supporters in Donetsk, the few England fans to make the trip to the outer reaches of eastern Europe are preparing to spoil the co-hosts’ Euro 2012 party. And they’re expecting returning striker Wayne Rooney to be the man to deliver the goals after serving a two-match suspension.”

Rooney is back after being banned for a red card in England’s final qualifying match, against Montenegro. Shevchenko, who has been struggling this week with a swollen knee, is quitting international football after this tournament _ will he get on the pitch tonight for what could be Ukraine’s final match of the tournament?


2012: And here are the teams for Sweden-France:

Sweden: Andreas Isaksson, Andreas Granqvist, Olof Mellberg, Jonas Olsson, Martin Olsson, Anders Svensson, Kim Kallstrom, Sebastian Larsson, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Emir Bajrami, Ola Toivonen.

France: Hugo Lloris, Mathieu Debuchy, Gael Clichy, Philippe Mexes, Adil Rami, Yann M’Vila, Alou Diarra, Hatem Ben Arfa, Franck Ribery, Samir Nasri, Karim Benzema.


2005: Here are the lineups for England vs. Ukraine _ Wayne Rooney returns from suspension for England and Andriy Shevchenko is only fit enough for a place on the bench for Ukraine:

England: Joe Hart, Glen Johnson, Joleon Lescott, John Terry, Ashley Cole, James Milner, Steven Gerrard, Scott Parker, Ashley Young, Wayne Rooney, Danny Welbeck.

Ukraine: Andriy Pyatov, Oleh Gusev, Yevhen Kiacheridi, Yevhen Selin, Yaroslav Rakitskiy, Andriy Yarmolenko, Anatoliy Tymoshchuk, Yevhen Konoplyanka, Denys Garmash, Marko Devic, Artem Milevskiy.