Continued from page 1

“One of the great success stories of international television in the last few years has been the explosion of high quality children’s programming around the globe,” said Bruce L. Paisner, president and CEO of the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

“In recognition of this, the International Academy is proud to have created these new awards and we look forward to the first International Emmy Kids Awards ceremony.”

In celebration of the International Emmys 40th anniversary, the academy will present honorary Special Founders Awards at its November gala to actor-director Alan Alda (“M(asterisk)A(asterisk)S(asterisk)H”) and writer-producer Norman Lear (“All In The Family”), who both had Emmy-winning shows on U.S. TV in 1972, the year of the first International Emmy Awards.

At the same ceremony, “Glee” creator Ryan Murphy will receive the honorary 2012 International Emmy Founders Award, while Kim In-kyu, president and CEO of the Korean Broadcasting System, will receive the honorary International Emmy Directorate Award.