You are currently viewing the printable version of this article, to return to the normal page, please click here.

‘Girls’ star Lena Dunham gets 7-figure book deal

Question of the Day

Is it still considered bad form to talk politics during a social gathering?

View results

NEW YORK (AP) - "Girls" creator Lena Dunham has a seven-figure book deal with Random House.

The 26-year-old Dunham, who received Emmy nominations as producer, director, writer and actor for the HBO comedy, has an agreement for the essay collection "Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's Learned."

"In the tradition of Helen Gurley Brown, David Sedaris and Nora Ephron, Dunham's book will offer frank and funny advice on everything from sex to eating to traveling to work," Random House said in an announcement Monday. Dunham said in statement that she was eager "to produce the most thoughtful and personal book" she could.

Random House spokeswoman Theresa Zoro said that no publication date has been set.

Numerous publishers bid for the book. Random House declined to offer financial details, but several competitors have said bidding exceeded $3.5 million.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
TWT Video Picks