- Obama admin to blame for HealthCare.gov woes, $840M cost: GAO
- Al Gore’s climate-changers at EPA hearings foiled by cool temperatures
- Army’s 3-D printed bombs will create ‘a whole new universe’ of deadly capabilities
- Hamas calls on Hezbollah to join in fight against Israel
- Senators to FIFA, others: Don’t reward Putin with the World Cup in 2018
- U.S. condemns Israeli shelling of shelter in Gaza
- Obamacare shoots premiums up by 88 percent in California
- Chicken pox outbreak puts illegal immigrant facility on lockdown
- Obama to Republicans: ‘Stop just hatin’ all the time’
- U.S. chemical sites vulnerable despite millions spent on security: Congress
Masters 2013: Woods’ drop under review, faces possible DQ
Question of the Day
AUGUSTA, Ga. — Tiger Woods‘ penalty drop on the 15th hole of the second round is being reviewed before play began at the Masters Saturday morning, and the four-time champion could possibly be disqualified.
An Augusta National spokesman said only that officials were reviewing the video. There was no indication when there would be a decision.
Woods‘ third shot from 87 yards hit the pin and caromed off the green, down the slope and into the water. Instead of going to the drop area on the other side of the water, Woods chose to take the one-shot penalty and play his fifth shot from the area of his original shot.
At question is whether that violates Rule 26-1, which states that the ball should be dropped as nearly as possible to the spot where it was last played.
If it’s determined that Woods took his drop in the wrong spot, the penalty is two strokes. He could face disqualification for signing an incorrect score.
“I went back to where I played it from, but went two yards further back and I tried to take two yards off the shot of what I felt I hit,” Woods said Friday after he signed for a 71, leaving him three shots out of the lead. “And that should land me short of the flag and not have it either hit the flag or skip over the back. I felt that was going to be the right decision to take off four (yards) right there. And I did. It worked out perfectly.”
Woods‘ fifth shot landed short of the hole and spun to a stop about 4 feet to the left of the flag. He made the putt for a bogey.
Woods began his year with a rules situation in Abu Dhabi. He took relief from an embedded lie in a sandy area covered in grass. He was entitled to a free drop except in sand, and Woods was given a two-shot penalty. He was alerted of this before he signed his card, and the two-shot penalty caused him to miss the cut.
- Geraldo Rivera: Matt Drudge 'doing his best to stir up a civil war'
- Catholic League slams Obama: 'Do Christian lives mean so little to you?'
- Al Gore's climate-changers at EPA hearings foiled by cool temperatures
- Lois Lerner hated conservatives, new emails show
- HURT: Impeaching Obama is a losing strategy for the GOP
- MSNBC's Ronan Farrow questions lack of racial diversity in emoji characters
- CARSON: Rudderless U.S. foreign policy
- Obama thanks Muslims for 'building the very fabric of our nation'
- Obama vows veto of House border bill
- ISTOOK: Get ready for super-priced burgers due to NLRB decree
Obama's biggest White House 'fails'
Celebrities turned politicians
Athletes turned actors
20 gadgets that changed the world