HARRIS: Don’t hang those ‘Titletown’ banners just yet, D.C.

Story Topics
Question of the Day

Should Congress make English the official language of the U.S.?

View results

In 1935, Detroit won the NFL, NBA and MLB titles. Two titles in a year has happened 12 times and New York has six of them including three between 1927 and 1933. The last was Boston in 2004 when the Patriots and Red Sox had parades.

“You’re a champion when you win it all,” said Nationals outfielder Jayson Werth, who won it all with the Phillies in 2008.

The Caps’ Eric Fehr is of the same mind as every other pro athlete in town.

“I would say nothing matters until there’s a championship,” Fehr said. “You’re not going to remember the city of Washington for winning a bunch of division titles back in 2005. It’s winning the title, that’s the only thing that matters at this point.”

• Stephen Whyno contributed to this report.

© Copyright 2014 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Get Adobe Flash player