You are currently viewing the printable version of this article, to return to the normal page, please click here.

NBA: Officials missed call when Bryant was hurt

- Associated Press - Thursday, March 14, 2013

The NBA says officials missed a foul call when Kobe Bryant was injured in a game against Atlanta.

The Los Angeles Lakers star complained he was fouled when he landed on the foot of the Hawks' Dahntay Jones with seconds left in the Lakers' 96-92 loss Wednesday night. He crumpled to the ground and clutched his ankle and the Lakers said he would be out "indefinitely."

The league posted a statement on its web site Thursday that said "video replay confirmed that referees missed a foul call on Jones as he challenged Bryant's shot and did not give him the opportunity to land cleanly back on the floor. Bryant should have been granted two free throws."

Bryant tweeted that his ankle was "still very swollen."

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.