- Associated Press - Tuesday, May 7, 2013

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FLA. (AP) - One night after making his red carpet debut in New York, Tiger Woods was on a golf course that hasn’t treated him very well over the years.

Woods said it took him a week to get over his tie for fourth at the Masters. Next up is The Players Championship, where he has won only once in 15 years and has just one top 10 since that victory in 2001.

“If you’re not playing well, you’re going to get exposed,” Woods said.

Woods was at full exposure Monday night at the Met with girlfriend Lindsey Vonn. For someone who has demanded so much privacy off the golf course, he attended the Costume Institute Gala. Vonn was a guest of Vogue. He posed on the red carpet wearing a black suit, while the Olympic ski champion wore a long white dress with see-through slits. The theme of the gala was “PUNK: Chaos to Coutre.”

Woods has always been more about green jackets and claret jugs.

“It was certainly different,” Woods said. “Lindsey wanted to try and grow her brand. She’s come out with a new perfume and makeup line, so that was a big thing for her and I’m supporting it. As you know, I’m not really big into fashion stuff. The theme was pretty interesting, because obviously I remember some of that stuff when I was a kid. But I certainly didn’t wear that stuff.”

Are more red carpets on the horizon?

“We’ll see,” Woods said. “Maybe I can just go in jeans and a T-shirt or something.”

Woods is used to the attention as the primary focus of golf since he won the 1997 Masters. He was reminded of how much fans pay attention to him at the Masters, where he was involved in an unusual rules situation that won’t seem to go away.

It started with Woods‘ third shot hitting the flag on the 15th hole and bouncing back into the water on the opening hole. Woods unknowingly took an illegal drop, but he wasn’t told about the possible infraction until after he signed his card. Augusta National took the blame, with competitions chairman Fred Ridley saying it didn’t initially notice the violation and chose not to ask Woods about it before he signed his card.

Eventually, he was given a two-shot penalty but allowed to stay in the tournament _ instead of being disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard _ under Rule 33-7 that gives a committee discretion to waive the disqualification penalty.

The U.S. Golf Association and Royal & Ancient last week said the Masters was within its right not to disqualify Woods. He wound up four shots out of the lead in a tie for fourth, his 15th consecutive major without winning.

Woods said it took him a week to get over his performance at the Masters. He said he was surprised that the drop and how it was handled was still being debated.

“I think Fred explained it pretty well,” Woods said. “For some reason, evidently that wasn’t accepted.”

Woods said he if saw a violation on television, he would not call it in. Television viewers _ in the case of the Masters, it was David Eger, a respected rules expert _ have been calling in what they think are rules violations for years.

Story Continues →