Continued from page 2

Among the other Medal of Freedom recipients will be media mogul Oprah Winfrey, country music legend Loretta Lynn, former Washington Post editor Ben Bradlee, former Chicago Cubs baseball player Ernie Banks, retired Sen. Richard G. Lugar of Indiana, feminist Gloria Steinem, former University of North Carolina basketball coach Dean Smith, and a posthumous award to astronaut Sally Ride.