Continued from page 1

Some, such as former Auburn coach Pat Dye and former Georgia star and ESPN analyst David Pollack, have said they would prefer only those who have played football to be on the committee.

“I’ve been in enough positions to respect people who have different views,” Rice said. “I will work very hard reviewing film to make good judgments.”

She added: “I don’t feel I’m carrying the banner for anyone except those of us who love college football.”

The panel is made up of five current athletic directors, former players and coaches and college administrators, and a former member of the media.

“Our work will be difficult, but rewarding at the same time,” Arkansas athletic director and committee chairman Jeff Long said. “We have important judgments to make during that process. We realize we represent all of college football.”

The rest of the members are:

—Barry Alvarez, athletic director, Wisconsin.

—Lt. Gen. Mike Gould, former superintendent of the United States Air Force Academy.

—Pat Haden, athletic director, Southern California.

—Tom Jernstedt, former NCAA executive vice president.

—Oliver Luck, athletic director, West Virginia.

—Dan Radakovich, athletic director, Clemson.

—Steve Wieberg, former college football reporter, USA Today.

Willingham, former head coach of Notre Dame, Stanford and Washington.

—Mike Tranghese, former commissioner of the Big East Conference.

Story Continues →