Continued from page 1

Woods made double bogey on the first hole Friday. It became a quadruple-bogey 8 with the penalty. It was the third time this year Woods was given a two-shot penalty for a rules violation.

At his first event of the season in Abu Dhabi, he took relief from an imbedded lie in a sandy area covered with vines. It was determined that relief was not allowed in the sand. He was docked two shots before signing his card, and it caused him to miss the cut.

More famous was the incident at the Masters, where he took an improper drop after his shot on the 15th hole in the second round hit the flag and went into the water. Word reached Augusta National from a television viewer _ who turned out to be rules expert David Eger _ but the club did not bring it to Woods‘ attention. It was only after later review, and Woods‘ comments that indicated he took an illegal drop, that he was penalized.

He was allowed to stay in the tournament despite signing a wrong scorecard because Augusta National felt it should have asked him before allowing him to sign his card. That decision to waive disqualification is covered under the Rules of Golf.

“The one at Augusta after going through it on Saturday morning, yeah, I did take the wrong drop,” Woods said. “But yesterday I didn’t feel like I did anything. And as I said, I described it in there and I said I moved the pine cone right behind my ball. I feel like the ball oscillated, and I just left it. Evidently, it wasn’t enough.”

Still, this has become a year of rulings for Woods.

“It’s unfortunate that he’s been at the center of this about three times, I think, this year,” Steve Stricker said. “I don’t know why, if it’s just because all the TV is on him all the time or what.”