Continued from page 3

Site: Baytown, Texas.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 3-4:30 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 2:30-5:30 p.m.).

Track: Royal Purple Raceway.

Last year: Cruz Pedregon won in Funny Car, beating Tim Wilkerson in the final. Bob Vandergriff Jr. won in Top Fuel, Jason Line topped the Pro Stock field, and Hector Arana Jr. won in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Last event: Robert Hight won the Four-Wide Nationals in Concord, N.C., on April 13, beating John Force, Alexis DeJoria and Tim Wilkerson in the Funny Car final. Antron Brown won the Top Fuel division, Sweden’s Jimmy Alund topped the Pro Stock field to become the first European winner in the series, and Andrew Hines won in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Fast facts: Hight, a two-time winner in the first five events, leads the Funny Car standings - 35 points ahead of Force. The 64-year-old Force won the season-opening Winternationals in Pomona, Calif., for his record 139th victory. He won his record 16th season title last year. … Doug Kalitta leads the Top Fuel standings, Erica Enders-Stevens tops the Pro Stock division, and Hines has the Pro Stock Motorcycle lead.

Next event: NHRA Summer Nationals, May 16-18, Atlanta Dragway, Commerce, Ga.




Next race: Spanish Grand Prix, May 11, Circuit de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain.

Last week: Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton won the Chinese Grand Prix for his third straight victory. Teammate Nico Rosberg was second.




Story Continues →