- Associated Press - Saturday, April 26, 2014

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) - Robert King, Marisa Kwiatkowski, Eric Weddle and Alex Campbell of The Indianapolis Star won top honors at the Indiana Associated Press Media Editors’ awards ceremony Friday for their coverage of gaps in Indiana’s child care regulations.

Their package won the Kent Cooper award for best overall newswriting at the IAPME spring meeting held at the Rathskeller in Indianapolis.

Judges called the work “an extremely ambitious effort” that told readers why its subject was so important.

Robert Franklin of the South Bend Tribune won the Bushemi Sweepstakes Award for a photo of a nighttime fire judged best of show during the banquet.

The Will Counts Photojournalism Award for the top young photojournalist went to Indiana University junior Darryl Smith.

AP member newspaper editors in Georgia judged the 2013 contest entries.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide