Stars heading to Cooperstown for Hall of Fame game

Story Topics
Question of the Day

Is it still considered bad form to talk politics during a social gathering?

View results

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. (AP) - Baltimore Orioles slugger Eddie Murray and St. Louis Cardinals shortstop Ozzie Smith are among six Hall of Famers returning for the annual Hall of Fame game at Doubleday Field in Cooperstown.

Joining them for the game on Memorial Day weekend will be Hall of Famers Roberto Alomar, Andre Dawson, Rollie Fingers and Phil Niekro.

The teams will be made up of recently retired players representing the 30 major league clubs. The list features two who won Most Valuable Player awards, three World Series MVPs, two All-Star Game MVPs, a combined 56 All-Star Game selections, 18 Gold Glove Awards and a member of the 600 home run club.

Among those scheduled to participate May 24 are Jim Thome, Steve Garvey, Hideki Matsui, Alex Gonzalez, Luis Gonzalez, Ivan Rodriguez, and Brad Lidge.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

blog comments powered by Disqus