- Associated Press - Thursday, August 21, 2014

A person close to the situation says Phoenix’s Sandy Brondello has won the WNBA coach of the year award.

The person says Brondello will receive the award Friday night in Phoenix before the Mercury host Los Angeles in the Western Conference semifinals opener. The person spoke to The Associated Press late Thursday night on condition of anonymity because no official announcement has been made.

Brondello guided the Mercury to a 29-5 record in her first season in charge. Phoenix won 16 straight games during the season, the second most in WNBA history, just short of the Sparks’ record of 18 consecutive victories.

She received 33 of the 38 votes with Minnesota’s Cheryl Reeve and Washington’s Mike Thibault each getting two, the person said. Atlanta’s Michael Cooper got the other vote.


Follow Doug on Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/dougfeinberg

Copyright © 2016 The Washington Times, LLC.

blog comments powered by Disqus


Click to Read More

Click to Hide