- Associated Press - Thursday, August 28, 2014

A new era in college football is here.

After years of deriding the BCS, fans will finally get what they - well, most of them - wanted with the new College Football Playoff.

It’s new, it’s exciting and, as was the case with the old system, will probably cause plenty of complaining since only four teams get a chance to play for the title.

It all starts with a handful of games this week before the full rollout on Saturday.

To get you ready, we’ve got some of the top teams, players and games to keep an eye on as the season hurtles toward the Final Four in January.



So how will the new playoff system work? We’ve got a quick rundown:

-Four teams get into the playoff, with the winners of the semifinals playing in the title game.

-A 13-member selection committee will pick teams for the semifinals and selected other bowls. The committee will begin releasing rankings on Oct. 21 and end with the final matchups on Dec. 7.

-The semifinals will rotate among six bowls: Rose, Cotton, Fiesta, Orange, Peach and Sugar. The Rose and Sugar bowls get the first two.

-This year’s title game will be Jan. 12 at AT&T; Stadium in Arlington, Texas.



Florida State. Defending national champion, reigning Heisman Trophy winner - might as well start there.

Story Continues →