- Associated Press - Wednesday, December 24, 2014

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - A senior defensive end who led Colorado State-Pueblo to the NCAA Division II national championship has won the 2014 Cliff Harris Award.

The Little Rock Touchdown Club named Darius Allen as the top defensive player in small-college football Wednesday.

CSU-Pueblo won its title shutting out a Minnesota State-Mankato team that averaged 42.9 points per game. In the playoffs, Allen had 29 tackles and 6.5 sacks.

The award is named after Cliff Harris, who signed with the Dallas Cowboys as a free agent after playing at Ouachita Baptist. Harris later played in five Super Bowls.

Top vote-getters in other divisions were Tyre Coleman of Hobart and William Smith in NCAA Division III, plus Takari Johnson of Concordia Ann Arbor and Ty Phillips of Missouri Valley in the NAIA.

The Wright, Lindsey, Jennings law firm also sponsors the award.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide