Continued from page 1

Lamoreaux made it 6-0 in the second period. Coyne, another product of Northeastern, put a shot past her former teammate and raised her hands to celebrate. The goal judge turned on the red light, but the referees signaled for play to continue.

The play was almost an afterthought by the time Kessel put the puck in the net a few minutes later and the referees went to check on it. After video review, Coyne’s goal was verified and the time was put back on the clock, negating Kessel’s apparent score.

Kessel was OK with it, and that made Stone happy as well.

“It’s just one more reason why you love to coach these kids. They’re unbelievably selfless,” she said, noting that Coyne also went to Northeastern. “Kendall was working hard to get one in there against her former teammate and she did. It’s just a testament to them: It doesn’t matter who puts the puck in the net, it’s making sure that we recognize the effort all the way around.”

___

Follow Jimmy Golen on Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/jgolen.