- Associated Press - Monday, February 3, 2014

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Two Oklahoma high school students have been chosen as delegates to the 52nd Annual United States Senate Youth Program.

Ryan Chapman from Norman North High School and Gloria Tso from Bartlesville High School will travel to Washington D.C. in March as Oklahoma’s delegates.

The Oklahoma Department of Education nominated several of the state’s top students, who were initially recommended by their principals, for the program.

The United States Senate Youth program selects 104 delegates every year from every state, Washington, D.C. and U.S. military bases. Delegates must show strong leadership skills, volunteer regularly and be in the top 1 percent of their state’s high school juniors and seniors academically.

Delegates will meet with senators, the president, a justice of the Supreme Court, an ambassador and other political and media figures.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide